Michelle Obama or Queen Gorgo?

August 27, 2008 at 12:04 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

So I’m listening to my television Monday night while doing other things. I have the Democrat Convention on to listen to Michelle Obama’s speech.

I wasn’t actually watching the television. I was listening. And then out of the blue something happened. I thought somehow my channel switched over to the movie “300.” Where King Leonidas and a force of 300 men fight the Persians at Thermopylae in 480 B.C.

In one part of the movie, Queen Gorgo gives a compelling speech where she says, in part, “Councilmen, I stand before you not only as your queen. I come to you as a mother. I come to you as a wife. I come to you as a Spartan woman. I come to you with great humility…

So when I heard Michelle Obama say in a part of her speech,I come here tonight as a sister” “I come here as a wife…” “I come here as a Mom…” “And I come here as a daughter…,” I thought I was listening to  Queen Gorgo’s speech from the movie “300”?

Compare.

Queen Gorgo (The Movie “300″):

Councilmen, I stand before you not only as your queen. I come to you as a mother. I come to you as a wife. I come to you as a Spartan woman. I come to you with great humility…


Michelle Obama (Democrat Convention Speech):

I come here tonight as a sister, blessed with a brother who is my mentor, my protector and my lifelong friend.

I come here as a wife who loves my husband and believes he will be an extraordinary president.

I come here as a Mom whose girls are the heart of my heart and the center of my world…

And I come here as a daughter – raised on the South Side of Chicago by a father who was a blue collar city worker…

Of course they aren’t exactly alike. I do wonder if the inspiration came from the Queen. I know…I know…I’m knit picking.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

